Internet Annoyances Part 1 – Suspicious Web Hosting Reviews

These days I’ve been having a string of annoying moments on the internet, hence this post series: “Internet Annoyances.”

I’d like to start with the matter of web hosting reviews because I really need to find a reliable web hosting provider. I have several new projects on stand-by due to lack of a place to host the corresponding sites. I do know a good Brazilian web hosting service; in fact I keep a few sites hosted there. But their service is a bit more expensive than it should be, and the amount of disk space and bandwidth they offer is quite frustrating. As this is the case with all Brazilian web hosts I’ve ever heard of, I thought I might try a foreigner service. But which one?

Of course I’ve tried to find reviews via Google, various webmaster/web hosting forums and several websites. The only thing I’ve learned for sure was that most web hosting reviews sound suspicious, to say the least. It’s pretty obvious that the reviewers are affiliated to some of the service providers and, as expected, will do what they can to sell some hosting packages. I can’t really blame them. I like money too, and I’d be very happy if I could earn some bucks by promoting such services. What annoys me is the fact that many people aren’t honest enough as to sincerely state that they praise this or that web host mainly because those are their sponsors.

Could anyone please, pretty please, direct me to a site or blog where I can find some unbiased web hosting reviews? Would you like to recommend any services (or warn me to stay away from certain companies)? Any help would be highly appreciated. :)

Oh, in case you’re wondering, I’m looking for a web host that:

– allows multiple domains in a single account;

– doesn’t charge any set up or hidden fees;

– has a good customer service;

– preferably takes monthly payments (instead of yearly ones);

– offers at least 5GB of disk space and 300GB of bandwidth.

But I’m open to suggestions that don’t necessarily fit in this short list. Please, help me find a proper web shelter for my ideas. ;-) And if you’re going to recommend me a web host you’re affiliated with, at least make it clear, all right? Thanks in advance.

P.S.: The next post in the “Internet Annoyances” series will deal with a MyBlogLog issue.

8 Responses to “Internet Annoyances Part 1 – Suspicious Web Hosting Reviews”

  1. WarriorBlog Says:

    Hey Karen, I use Hostgator but many people have complaint that they have poor customer service and isn’t very reliable. However, I been doing well with them in the last 3 months.

    I recommend you use forums to do research like WarriorForum.com or Sitepoint.com – they have many experienced IM that can help :-)

    Take care,
    Sean

    P.S Thanks for stopping by and for that stumble! :-)

  2. Karen Zara Says:

    You’re welcome. :)

    Thank you very much for your recommendations! I have been thinking about giving Hostgator a try, but I’ve also heard about their poor customer service. But then again, you say you’ve been doing well with them, so it may be a matter of luck. :-P

    Sean, are you affiliated in any way to WarriorForum.com? *curious*

  3. Internet Annoyances Part 1 - Suspicious Web Hosting Reviews Says:

    […] You can read the rest of this blog post by going to the original source, here […]

  4. Frank C Says:

    I’ve been using GoDaddy for hosting and I think they meet your requirements. I know that some don’t like them for one reason or another, but most of what I’ve seen has been more about the owner’s politics or the way they’ve dealt with a few gray/black hat sites.

    I haven’t had a problem with them until yesterday when the server my sites are on kept crashing. I got through to a support rep within about a minute. He didn’t hesitate about escalating the service call and within a short amount of time everything was running well again. While it would have been nice to not have had the glitch at all, their response was excellent.

  5. Vivevtvivas Says:

    I’ve also been using GoDaddy for about a year now. Haven’t had a single problem with them that couldn’t be resolved with Customer service within minutes (2 calls).

    I have used other hosting providers from local ones to Canaca and another one that I can’t remember but they were slow and customer support sucked.

    One thing that you should watch is the 3rd-4th tier reseller hosting sites that are just horrible. The one that I used before Canaca was like that and they couldn’t do a damned thing to improve my service. Just horrible.

    Pair Networks is one that I investigated a long time ago that seemed to be pretty good too. As far as I know they are still around and some big named sites are hosted by them.

    As far as GoDaddy is concerned, I have 31 domains registered with them now, and tons of subdomains under many of the addresses. Not a single problem with bandwidth, speed or ease of administration. I would like them to scrap the AJAX interface to the admin but I’m in it almost every day so that’s just picking nits.

    The do get a little “zealous” when it comes to selling extra services but you just have to read carefully at first and when you get the hang of it, you know where to click to by-pass all that crap.

    In fact, everything is so easy for me now, that it is usually 10 minutes from domain name purchase to FTPing files on my new domain.

    I’m not married to them but I do think that Bob Parsons is a genius.

    Good luck.

    Vivevtvivas

  6. Vivevtvivas Says:

    So what did you decide to do?

    I finally decided to create a website with “virtual links”, using .htaccess and other “tricks” to try and make the dynamic URLs more SEO friendly.

    I had to call GoDaddy again to find out why my .htaccess file wasn’t working.

    I have to say, that their tech support is second to none. I have absolutely no axe to grind with them but am very impressed with their service.

    I wish they had an Affiliate product to promote but since they don’t, I’m doing this of my own free will…lol

    I read Bob Parson’s blog everyday and he recently posted this. (http://www.bobparsons.com/index.php?/archives/156-guid.html)

    I think it might explain GoDaddy’s customer service.

    Vivevtvivas

  7. My Online Marketing Experiences Says:

    […] her blog immensely. I ended up making a few comments on subject that if found interesting. One on Internet Hosting in […]

  8. My Online Marketing Experiences Says:

    […] I wrote quite a lengthy comment on Karen Zara Dwells Here a few months ago and I decided that I should publish it on my own blog too. It’s pretty long about GoDaddy hosting. […]

Leave a Reply

